The whole point of Facebook is to share information, isn’t it? You want people to be able to find you and contact you. It’s a social network after all. But sharing with people is one thing, and sharing with companies is another, and maybe you don’t want the latter?
Fortunately, Facebook has included some nice privacy tools for dealing with advertisers (be they gathering information from apps, websites, or games) and options to disable more insidious information sharing.
In this post I’m going to walk you through how to restrict some of the more insidious privacy loopholes.
Apps, Games and Websites
Fortunately for us, Facebook has included all of these options in the same place. You can find it under account>privacy settings then find apps and websites in the bottom left corner.
So maybe at some point you installed an app, or granted access to a website, that you no longer use. What you may not know is that that app still has access to your data.
Removing an app is simple: just hit the x next to it, but maybe you think you still might want to use it? Well, you can also go into your profile
Turn off all platform apps
If you just don’t want any platform apps? That’s one click
What your friends can share
One of the more insidious privacy problems is that, even if you’re not sharing your information with anyone but your friends, those friends can unwittingly share it with advertisers. But you can limit this from the “what your friends can share” panel.
Pretty straightforward, yeah?
This one is pretty well known. You can turn it off in options.
This keeps your profile from coming up in Google, but honestly, do you want to do this? If so, its a solitary option, so just click the button.